Actual Chess, no steroids:)

(Ciakgb) #1

So chess on steroids, that’s the Splash advertising for this game:) I don’t know about that, BUT, they are both turn based, (basically) perfect information, square based games, with different pieces and abilities, positional play and all the rest.

If anyone here likes to play Chess as well, feel free to join FICS (free internet chess server), it’s free and requires you to pick an interface that matches up well with your home computer. Apps are discouraged.

Once there, you can look me up and send me a message, my handle is “Gaveudabird.” 50 points if you figure out why:)

In case you didn’t know, I am a chess journalist by trade. I have interviewed Gary Kasparov and penned a number of articles for CHESS LIFE magazine. I’m not trully great, alas, as a player–like Rad I go in for the uncoventional and risky–but I’m sure I’ll give you an interesting game:)

All the best,

Ciakgb

(Anonymous--Rex) #2

I dunno. The whole “every gets to bring in different units” changes things. If the individual units aren’t balanced, the games aren’t necessarily so. I haven’t been playing much, but it feels like going first gives you a bigger advantage here than in chess, too.

(Runeforce) #3

For all chess lovers (and chess haters too,) here is the (not so) real history of the game of chess: :slight_smile:

//youtu.be/0RHLtx9r2LA

(tinker) #4

the units are balanced. not perfectly but name 1 game where everything is balanced. it is impossible.
comparing snipers and soldiers in rad soldiers is for me like comparing knight and bishop in chess.

and yes - playing perfect will allow you to win every game when you start. the problem : there is no “perfect” start in chess (at least not found)
same might count for rad soldiers. but it is little more complex at this point - because every squad has pros and cons, a mirror match is rare.

(Anonymous--Rex) #5