What's a good accuracy %

(mustardStroll) #1

I’m new to this game and honestly, not very good. I don’t have much background in FPS games, so that’s probably understandable.

My problem is that I almost never win a 1-on-1 shootout closeup. I seem to go down real quick while my opponent is still sitting at > 50% health. This must be either a) I don’t hit often enough in general, b) not enough headshots (I don’t seem to get all that many ‘pings’ despite aiming for the head), c) bad relative movement, or d) all of the above!

So the question is, what is a competitive accuracy% ? I realise different weapons will behave differently, but if we perhaps go with the default Skyhammer assault rifle then my accuracy is ~25%, which feels as if it might be too low.

Also, any general tips for being able to win the occasional shootout? I’ve watched a few videos and I think I’m doing the same things as I see, but the results are obviously not the same.

Ta.

(MisterBadmin) #2

A good level of accuracy is relative to what skill bracket you’re in. As a new player in fps, 25% accuracy is kind of expected. Hell, my initial accuracy was around 24.5% because I hadn’t touched a competitive shooter in years. (Cumulatively, I’m at 26.3%, my smurf (made it to check accuracy) is at 33%.) The “average” player is probably around 28-32% accuracy. The guys who PUG and play in cups (or have 6,000 hours in TF2) are in the 35-40+% range. Those guys are terrifying.

I’m going to assume you play a lot of Skyhammer, as his default (the M4) is the only weapon you mention. Everything below assumes you playing M4 Skyhammer.