I give up. I need a coder's help.

(DiaZ) #1

I’ll try to explain it well… some of you might have seen that MGS2 Liner map of mine, I’ve stated in the q3map2 support forum that I am revamping it, and one of the new things I’m trying to add is convincing rain impact splashes on surfaces. You might have seen in the map that the rain is made by putting a simple layer on the players view (CG_DrawPic) and then applying complex shaders on that layer. I think that adding nice water splashes on the floor would give more “depth” to the effect. I’ve tried everything I can, but I am no programmer, and my knowledge seems to be insufficient for this. Basically, the code would make a trace from random XY positions and a fixed Z position above the player, to a position below the player that is in the same XY coordinates. Then, a sprite (not an impact mark á la blood mark / bullet mark, just a vertically placed square sprite with the splash shader on it ) would be drawn in the position where the trace hits a plane. This would happen randomly on a small area around the player (doing it on the whole map is worthless and a waste of resources, obviously).

So after all, yeah, I am “recruiting” a programmer for this “mini-mod”, to do just this small job. If anyone wants to help, reply here or mail me at levelmasta@hotmail.com. You’ll have full credit once the map gets re-released.

PS. I need this…

(DiaZ) #2

By the way, just in case you want to se what you’d be helping with, here’s a small screen of the in-progress revamping work.

(DiaZ) #3

Well, I wasn’t exactly getting insane amounts of help, but anyways, I’ve finally done it myself. The code is at times kinda nasty (lots of lines simply because a “for” or “while” loop will lock up the game) but it works well and the performance hit is not huge.

(MuffinMan) #4

hey diaz, sorry nobody could help you. now as you did it yourself when are we going to see the finished map? the beta was cool!

(DiaZ) #5